the hockey player: part two of three

by bois2men

I immediately had to step back out into the lobby and find the nearest bar. We got beers, I took a few huge sips, and felt better. Bad sign? Probably. We found our seats. The game was intense considering we were not rooting for the home team yet were seated in their section (thanks hockey player guy). But not to complain, the seats were great. Our team lost, bummer, but hockey player got put in the penalty box for starting a fight… hot? hot. After the game, we were invited to a local restaurant right down the street. Keep in mind, I had still not met my hockey player in person at this point. Extreme anxiety set in (for me at least) as we waited for the team to meet us at the restaurant. SIDE NOTE: How the fuck do people eat on first/second/third dates? Like, dinner? How? I need a drink, not food. And movies? Yeah, let’s go sit in a dark room, sober, and not talk. Way to get to know each other. Anyway… The team starts to file in, freshly showered and suited up. I guess that was a rule- to wear a suit after each game, totes fine by me. He finally walks in, we hug, I breathe a little easier at this point. Everyone meets everyone (awkward? I wonder what he told the rest of the guys… the thought scares me) and we sit down and eat, except me of course, cause like, how would I do something like that at a time like this?  After the meal, the guys had to all take their bus back to their hotel- and after some delays, we were invited. We stopped at a local gas station for beer. Only the finest of course- Bud Light.

We entered the hotel lobby to a stern, oversized, hick-ish security guard standing at the check in desk giving us an I-DON’T-THINK-SO look. What? There is absolutely nothing peculiar at all about five girls walking into a hotel after 10pm with two 12-packs of beer to visit some “friends”. Newer-to-the-group girl started to mouth off and almost blew our chances at getting up to their floor (they couldn’t come down and meet us because they weren’t allowed to have guests- coach rules). Luckily, she didn’t and we made it up. Hockey player and I had not discussed exactly what the plan would be for this night, so at this point it was wild card. We drank and drank, and laughed, and drank until most of the beers were gone. Some of the girls wanted to leave but new-to-the-group girl starting showing her true colors (which were not good) and though had originally planned on leaving that night, decided to stay and fucked over some of the other girls. (This later demoted her to not-in-the-group-at-all girl, but that’s another story). So everyone ended up staying. Hockey player and I got our own room (awww, how sweet right?)…